[Ppnews] The Attica Rebellion - This week on Making Contact

Political Prisoner News ppnews at freedomarchives.org
Tue Sep 5 13:32:41 EDT 2006



National Radio Project/Making Contact
1714 Franklin St #100-251 Oakland, CA 94612
510-251-1332/800-529-5736 www.radioproject.org

The Attica Rebellion #36-06

September 9-13th marks the 35th anniversary of the Attica Rebellion, a
massive prison rebellion, massacre and cover-up in New York. The story of
Attica is one of the most brutal and heroic chapters in United States
history. After a five-day occupation, 45 people were killed, 150 were shot
and hundreds were tortured. As one slogan from 1971 read, "Attica is all of
us."

Currently, with more than 2 million people imprisoned in the U.S., the story
of Attica needs to be told, and the origins of the current anti-prison
movement discussed. On this edition, we present a documentary produced by
the Freedom Archives.

Featuring:

Frank 'Big Black' Smith, Attica Brother and prison activist; L.D. Barkley,
Attica Brother killed during the re-taking of the prison; Elizabeth Fink,
attorney for the Attica Brothers; Michael Deutsch, attorney for the Attica
Brothers; Historical recordings in Attica prison of guards and prisoners
during the rebellion and the bloody retaking of the prison.

For more information:

The producers of the documentary:
The Freedom Archives
522 Valencia Street San Francisco, CA 94110
415- 863-9977 info at freedomarchives.org
http://www.freedomarchives.org

Remembering Big Black
by Bo Brown on The Real Costs of Prisons Weblog
On July 31, 2004, Frank 'Big Black' Smith died.
http://www.realcostofprisons.org/blog/archives/2005/04/73104_frank_big.html

Visit our Prison Desk to listen to dozens of other of radio programs with
links to scores of voices and organizations at
http://www.radioproject.org/desks/prison.html

Other helpful links:

All of Us or None http://www.allofusornone.org

American Indian Prisoner Support
http://www.angelfire.com/wy/nainmatessupportgrp/index.html

Barrios Unidos http://www.barriosunidos.net

Books Not Bars http://www.booksnotbars.org

California Coalition for Women Prisoners http://www.womenprisoners.org

Critical Resistance http://www.criticalresistance.org

Death Penalty Focus http://www.deathpenalty.org

Equal Justice USA http://www.quixote.org

Ex-offenders Action Network http://www.exoffenderactionnetwork.com

Family and Friends of Louisiana¹s Incarcerated Children http://www.fflic.org

Jericho Movement for Political Prisoners
http://www.thejerichomovement.com/jericho.html

Innocence Project http://www.innocenceproject.org

Legal Services for Prisoners with Children
http://www.prisonerswithchildren.org

Prison Activist Resource Center http://www.prisonactivist.org
http://www.prisonactivist.org/links/Activist_and_Community_Organizations

Restorative Justice Campaign http://www.restorativejustice.org

Safe Streets/Strong Communities,
http://www.neworleansnetwork.org/node/358

Western Prison Project http://www.westernprisonproject.org

Making Contact is syndicated and provided free each week to over 200 radio
stations in the U.S., Canada, South Africa, Ireland and the Internet. We
rely on your support to keep going! To donate to National Radio Project, for
more information, or to submit program topic ideas and pitches, please visit
online or call toll-free at 1-800-529-5736.

Contact National Radio Project for permission to reproduce this and/or other
programs or to purchase tapes and CDs at $10 each. Special arrangements for
bulk orders. Subscriptions (CDs mailed weekly): 6 mo $98; 1 yr $175.

The Freedom Archives
522 Valencia Street
San Francisco, CA 94110
(415) 863-9977
www.freedomarchives.org 
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://freedomarchives.org/pipermail/ppnews_freedomarchives.org/attachments/20060905/affa0695/attachment.html>


More information about the PPnews mailing list